Graduation

Tomorrow I graduate from St. Bonaventure University with a Master of Science in Education in Educational Leadership. Two years ago there was no thought about such a reality but in the past 22 months something happened. I have been on “The Good Journey.” In less than two years I have completed 35 graduate hours. I’ve completed 831.5 hours of internships in Special Education, Curriculum, Assistant Principal and been an assistant to a superintendent. My daughter, Dara who graduated in December 2010 from St. Bonaventure University has been an inspiration to me. She graduated from State University College at Fredonia, Summa Cum Laude with a 3.98 gpa a couple of years ago and then graduated from St. Bonaventure with a 4.0 gpa. Through God’s grace and good fortune I too have made that mark. In the process I have been nominated to Pi Lamda Theta and graciously accepted.

On the road to this degree I have met with many wonderful classmates whom I will miss a great deal. I have been blessed to have a great adviser and great professors from whom I have learned. Where does the road lead now? I really don’t know. I do know that I have enjoyed these last almost two years and I am proud to be graduating from St. Bonaventure University tomorrow. Franciscans have played a tremendous role in my educational life. From grade school, high school and now a graduate degree from St. Bonaventure University.

Tomorrow I become an alumni of an institution that I have admired much of my life. I remember looking at the tiled rooftops forty-plus years ago when I sat in study halls at nearby Archbishop Walsh High School. I came to basketball camp here. It was here too that I came on a first date with my wife. We came with our family to enjoy many basketball games. Bonaventure is home to Thomas Merton too. I have reflected often in these past months of how I was studying in the same library that Thomas studied in.   Words cannot express all that is in my heart. This has been an incredibly fulfilling journey. Pax et Bonum!

About Don

Social entrepreneur, Educator, Open Source Advocate
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

