Going home

Today I applied to St. Bonaventure University Graduate School. Though I’ve never been a Bona student before, I’ve been connected to St. Bonaventure and Franciscans most of my life. Last night I attended an informational session about graduate programs at St. Bonaventure at Hilbert College, another nearby Franciscan college. I spoke with a representative of the University who happened like me to have connections to both the University at Buffalo and State University College at Fredonia. How does a guy who almost retired a month ago apply to a graduate program in educational leadership? Daily, my thoughts are of what God’s will is and most of the time I marvel at the direction my life takes. I’m reminded of Thomas Merton’s quote about the road ahead.

My Lord God,
I have no idea where I am going.
I do not see the road ahead of me.

I cannot know for certain where it will end.
Nor do I really know myself,
and the fact that I think that I am following
your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you.
And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing.
I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire.
And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it. –Thomas Merton

It’s only a step on the journey and God only knows where it will lead, but today I’ve done something very Franciscan, I’ve followed my heart.

About Don

Social entrepreneur, Educator, Open Source Advocate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

