Mathetes tag

Recently Jeff tagged me for a Mathetes award. I’m honored to be so highly regarded by a fellow blogger. That tagging carries with it some responsibility to tag others too. Like Jeff I read many blogs everyday. Some are technically related while others like Jeff have a more spiritual direction. In the last month with the start of another school year I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to do as much reading as I have in the past and my reading has been taking a bit of a hit or maybe I should say I’ve had a slight change in direction. Life is like that. This year I’ve felt more upbeat and I don’t really know why. Six months ago I was discouraged and the fruit of that discouragement has resulted in some positive moves that are yielding fruit. This summer I made a real effort to live more mindfully and I’ve continued in that vein. I’ve tried not to put any limits on the power of God in my life. I naturally want to put limits on God. An old timer told me once never to define God, because if I did I’d lose the power in my life. The guy was right and so I’ve tried give up old ideas and follow some new directions from my spiritual advisors. I hadn’t realized until just the last few days that these new directions are actually bearing fruit. Life is like that, you take a new direction, fill your sails with new wind and it’s a while later that the scenery begins to change enough so you know you’re on a new course.

Part of that new direction has been directed towards the re-creation of my own business site at Donwatkins.net. I posted my resume on Monster about four months ago and began to seriously look at changing my life direction. I also had to seriously look at who I really worked for. Did I work for an entity defined by man or did I truly work for a higher power. Was I willing to be open to the insights of others who are agents of that power? Honesty, open-mindedness and willingness are the essentials of a renewed life. These three virtues are often overlooked but they provide the key to successful living.

Now, who will I tag for a Mathetes award?

Aun Estamos Vivos

Receiving Light

A Minor Friar

Just Plain Foolish

Catholicism, Holiness and Spirituality

Gratefulness 

They are bookmarked in my feed reader.

About Don

Social entrepreneur, Educator, Open Source Advocate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

