Danta De

I begin this day listening to Danta De, classic sacred music of Ireland. It’s beautiful music taken from the Irish Hymnal of 1928. It’s a CD available from AveMaria Press. Listening to this beautiful music, drinking some tea and eating a honey and peanut butter sandwich made from Monk’s bread while reading from “Work of God” a book of Benedictine prayer. I purchased the book of Benedictine prayer on one of my many visits to Abbey of the Genesee. I’ve read other presentations of the Divine Office, but I like this one because it’s easier for me to follow. I don’t sit and do formal morning and evening prayers everyday. I get myself too busy. I should take more time. This week is winter break and I have time to spend more time praying the Divine Office.

Each morning I say a short prayer before the crucifix and offer myself to God to do with me as he might. I asked to be relieved of the bondage of self that I might better do his will. I ask him to take away my difficulties that victory over them might bear witness to those that I might help of his power, his love and his way of life. I ask for knowledge of his will for me today and the power to carry it out.

Tomorrow I’m traveling to Mt. Saviour Monastery for a couple of days in their loving care. Yesterday I spent some time setting up a computer for my friend Fr. Dan Hurley, OFM at Mt. Irenaeus. Hurles as we affectionately call him is 85 and suffering from macular degeneration. I tried to make the print on the computer screen large enough for him to read. I love him. He’s my image of God, a kindly gentle fellow, who loves us all and is patient beyond measure. I wish I knew more about how to help him see. He has trouble seeing the Lectionary at Mass. Yesterday after trying to help Fr. Dan I spent time in Holy Peace Chapel looking east over the hills of Allegany County. The sky was a lovely blue and sunlight streamed into the chapel.

This week I’ll probably spend time every day visiting monasteries and convents. It’s one of the things I like to do. I’ll be praying for our children and their success in college and for my lovely wife. Thank God for the gift of love. Peace.

About Don

Social entrepreneur, Educator, Open Source Advocate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

