Vocation

Recently I attended a formation workshop on “Servant Leadership” sponsored by the St. Kateri Tekakwitha Region of the Secular Franciscan Order. I’ve been a member of the Secular Franciscan Order since 2000 and professed since April 2002. I was once fraternity minister of the St. Irenaeus OFS Fraternity in West Clarksville, New York. At our fraternity gathering in February of this year I volunteered to take on the leadership of “Justice, Peace and the Integrity of Creation” for our own fraternity. I also volunteered to attend the workshop on “Servant Leadership.” Not really knowing why I did that, but following the spirit I traveled to the Stella Maris Retreat Center at Skaneateles, New York. While I was there I was approached about taking on a leadership position with the Kateri Region. Af first I balked and then refused despite the fact that for much of the winter and all of Lent I had been praying for direction. 

Here direction fell into my lap and like Jonah I was refusing it. I have since reconsidered and sought the direction of my spiritual advisor and a good friend in the Secular Franciscan Order. I’m anxious and excited at the same time about what this opportunity will present. I hope that you will join me in praying that I will continue to follow the spirit’s lead. 

About Don

Entrepreneur, educator, social media marketing, open source software, contemplative, US Navy veteran.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vocation

  1. It was good to meet you face-to-face.

Leave a Reply

